Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards 2012

The Government has announced the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for the year 2012,

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by Selection Committee consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators; headed by Col Rajya Vardhan Singh Rathore. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer awards upon the following sportspersons. 

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award – 2012:

Vijay Kumar Shooting
Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling

Arjuna Awards 2012:


Deepika Kumari Archery
Laishram Bombayla Devi Archery
Sudha Singh Athletics
Kavita Ramdas Raut Athletics
Ashwani Ponnappa Badminton
Parupalli Kashyap Badminton
Aditya S. Mehta Billiards & Snooker
Vikas Krishan Boxing
Yuvraj Singh Cricket
Sardar Singh Hockey
Yashpal Solanki Judo
Anup Kumar Kabaddi
Samir Suhag Polo
Annu Raj Singh Shooting
Omkar Singh Shooting
Joydeep Karmakar Shooting
Deepika Pallikal Squash
Sandeep Sejwal Swimming
Sonia Chanu Weightlifting
Narsingh Yadav Wrestling
Rajinder Kumar Wrestling
Geeta Phogat Wrestling
Bimoljit Singh Wushu
Deepa Mallick Athletics – Paralympics
Ramkaran Singh Athletics – Paralympics

Normally  only one award of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna  is given every year to an individual sportsperson. However, the Scheme provides that this condition can be relaxed in exceptional circumstances viz., winning of an Olympic medal. Like wise for the Arjuna Awards, normally not more than 15 awards are to be given in any calendar year.  However, the Scheme of Arjuna Awards also provides that keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian Games and Olympic Games during a particular year, Arjuna Awards exceeding 15 in number may be allowed with proper justification and approval of the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports.  The Selection Committee noted that 2012 is the Olympic year and India has won 6 medals in the London Olympics, which is country’s best performance in Olympic Games, and recommended that the condition of one award in case of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and 15 awards in case of Arjuna Awards may be relaxed and the number of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award may be increased from 1 (one) to 2 (two) and Arjun Awards may be increased from 15 (fifteen) to 25 (twenty five). 

Related Topics  ICSI National Awards for Excellence in Corporate Governance - 2012

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular performance in the year under consideration; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for three consecutive years preceding the year of award.    

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh each and Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.