Prime Minister’s council on climate change constituted

The Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh, has set up a High Level advisory group on climate change issues. The Prime Minister’s Council on Climate Change will include the following:

(a) Government Representatives:- Minister of External Affairs; Finance Minister; Minister of Environment & Forests; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Water Resources; Minister of Science & Technology; Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission; Dr. R. Chidambaram, Principal Scientific Advisor to PM; Shri V. Krishnamurthy, Chairman, NMCC; Dr. C. Rangarajan, Chairman, EAC; Shri Ajay Mathur, Chairman, Bureau of Energy Efficiency; Foreign Secretary; Secretary, Environment & Forests and Principal Secretary to PM (Convenor)

(b) Non-Government Members:- Dr. R.K. Pachauri, Chairperson, TERI; Dr. Prodipto Ghosh; Dr. Nitin Desai; Dr. Sunita Narain; Shri Chandrashekhar Dasgupta (Retd. Diplomat); Shri Ratan Tata, Chairman, Investment Commission; Shri Raj Chengappa, Executive Editor, India Today; Dr. R.Ramachandran, Science Editor, The Hindu.

The Council will coordinate national action plans for assessment, adaptation and mitigation of climate change. It will advise government on pro-active measures that can be taken by India to deal with the challenge of climate change. It will also facilitate inter-ministerial coordination and guide policy in relevant areas

Executive Committee on Climate Change constituted

Related Topics  Biodiversity Heritage Sites
Raja Raja Cholan
About Raja Raja Cholan 659 Articles
Trainer & Mentor for aspirants preparing for civil service examination

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.