Kolkata solar physicist wins prestigious US prize


Dibyendu Nandi of the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata has been awarded the prestigious Karen Harvey Prize for 2012 by the American Astronomical Society (AAS). The first scientist from the Asia Pacific to get the prize, Nandy was awarded for his “advances in the use of kinematic dynamo models to elucidate the typical and atypical solar cycle, and for his outstanding leadership within the solar physics and space climate communities.”

The prize is in “recognition for a significant contribution to the study of the sun, early in a person’s professional career.”

“The main thrust of this discovery is that the sun’s memory regarding its past activity is very short. This implies that very long term forecasting of solar activity and space weather is ruled out,

He is a part of ISRO’s Aditya’s mission to the sun which is slated for lift off later this year or in 2013.

Established in May 2002, the Karen Harvey Prize honours a solar physicist who was president of the Solar Physics Research Corporation and treasurer of the solar physics division.

Related Topics  Millennium Technology Prize - 2014

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.