JNNURM Projects in Various States

Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) launched on 3.12.2005 is a reform linked scheme for provisioning of urban infrastructure and services in urban centres for the identified cities and towns. It has two components, namely, the Urban Infrastructure and Governance (UIG) and the Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT).

Requests for inclusion under UIG of JNNURM have been received during the Mission period in respect of Amravati, Aurangabad, Ayodhaya, Belgaum, Bellary, Biharshariff, Calicut, Darjeeling, Deoghar, Dhule, Faizabad, Gandhinagar, Gaya, Gorakhpur, Gulbarga, Guntur, Gurgaon, Gwalior, Haldia, Hubli-Dharward, Jhansi, Jodhpur, Kaithal, Kalimpong & Kurseong, Karamsad, Kolhapur, Kurnool, Kurukshetra-Pehowa, Malegaon, Nalanda, Panipat, Pawapuri, Port Blair, Rajgir, Sambalpur, Siliguri, Solapur, Sultanpur-Lodhi, Vrindavan, Warangal etc.

As per guidelines of UIG, the number of cities under the Mission shall remain around 60. At present there are 65 cities covered under UIG of JNNURM and no more cities have been added and no projects approved and assistance provided to the cities mentioned above under UIG Sub-Mission of JnNURM. However, cities that are not covered under UIG are eligible for assistance under UIDSSMT subject to availability of funds.

Under UIDSSMT, the sharing of funds would be in the ratio 80:10 between Central Government & State Government and the balance 10% could be raised by the nodal/implementing agencies from the financial institutions (FIs). Implementing agencies may substitute internal resources for funds to be raised from the FIs. However, in case of cities/ towns in North Eastern States and Jammu & Kashmir, sharing of funds would be in the ratio 90:10 between Central & State Government.

Related Topics  India Ranked Low on Gender Inequality Index:

The Government has set a timeframe up to 31.3.2014 for completion of on going projects.

Schemes for slum dwellers and urban poor across the country

PM’s 15 Point Programme

Scheme for Prevention of Alcoholism and Substance (Drugs) Abuse

Revised Swarna Jayanti Shahari Rozgar Yojana

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.